Metallica releases Beyond Magnetic EP

Would ya look at that? All those previously unreleased tracks that have been leaking online all week from Metallica? Turns out the band has released them as an EP on iTunes called Beyond Magnetic.

The four tracks, “Just A Bullet Away,” “Hate Train,” “Hell And Back” and “Rebel Of Babylon,” will be available for download in the U.S. starting this week in honor of the band’s 30th anniversary which they’ve celebrated this whole week. Of course, since all those tracks leaked onto the web you can check them out here.

So what did the band have to say about this new EP?

During the Death Magnetic album sessions in 2007 and 2008, we originally recorded 14 songs. When it came time to pick the songs for the final album, we decided on 10 songs that you’ve all come to know over the last three years… Some of you may have heard bits and pieces of those other songs on ‘Mission Metallica’ (remember ‘Mission Metallica’?!) or heard rumors about them during the recording process, and wondered, ‘What ever happened to those other four songs???.’ We kept them in the vault and decided to pull them just for this special celebration, so here are the four leftover tracks from the Death Magnetic sessions. They are ROUGH mixes, unfinished to their original degree of mixing from March ’08. These four songs were released as gift to our closest fans, the members of our Fan Club, to enjoy. Now they’re being made available to you.

Beyond Magnetic EP tracklist
1. “Hate Train”
2. “Just A Bullet Away”
3. “Hell And Back”
4. “Rebel Of Babylon”

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply